On the 18th of January, in the company of good friend Jazinda Machache, reporter and True African Woman Shanee and with technical support from Kudzayi Manyau, we walked from Town House in Harare to Makoni Shopping Centre in Chitungwiza. We walked the 27km distance in a time under 6 hours.

We had Shanee walking with us and chatting with me half of the way. Kudzayi provided logistical support; we had an amazing halfway stopover at the airport on Seke Road with a bit of dancing to some cool house music. It was indeed a fun trip all round.

For me, this walk was meant to assess my physical condition before embarking on the 1,000km Green Walkathon that will take me across Zimbabwe in 38 days. The speed pointers were great. At a very leisurely pace, I will cover 4km an hour and this can be improved to almost 6km per hour. Thus my projected 30km per day is a reasonable target.

Physically, I had a few aches in both feet partly due to freshly purchased takkies. My toes burned a bit and briefly the sole of my left foot wanted to flare up. My left knee niggled a bit but settled down. All in all, I am convinced I can cover the 1, 000km albeit with some serious physical challenges.

I am doing this because I am convinced Africans should stand and be counted in telling the story of their continent. I believe there is need for serious discussion on the waste management chain in Zimbabwe and only drastic action will bring about this discussion and eventual progress on this issue.

I am doing this to raise funds for BIN-it Zimbabwe so that we can eventually say there is no litter in Zimbabwe. And this program can achieve this goal. We will put up crowdfunding appeals with different perks starting with Indiegogo. For home, we will encourage people to support through Ecocash.

I am attempting this walk so that you can come with me. I am asking you to support me. This is our huge pride factor as a people. Let us let everyone know that this is what some of us in the homeland are committing to. Share this post to your wall and everywhere on social media. TOGETHER WE CAN.

Comments
  1. Prosper Mandaza says:

    im interested in the 1000km walk

    • chiposi says:

      We will spend 38 days on the road. We have no piggy back option. What do you do mate?

      • Prosper Mandaza says:

        when you say you have no piggy back what do you mean ?
        im a teacher at aprimary school i teach computers

  2. Sibo says:

    wer do i sign up for Proudly Zimbabwean?

Tell me what YOU think