MY VISION OF A ZIMBABWE

Posted: April 30, 2019 in Uncategorized

I am a man possessed

I have a vision but it is not a vision. I have a dream but it is not a dream. This thing that I have is real and I can almost touch it. I can smell it, as I sit in a combi, four by four, going into town. I feel it when I walk about the city, seeing broken pavements, potholes and drain covers. I see it when I look at vendors lined up on Robert Mugabe road in the city. I have a vision but it is not a vision. I have a dream but it is not a dream.

There is a greatness of Zimbabwe that lives within me. Well manicured neighbourhoods where people live with enough water and electricity countrywide. A good public transport system that runs on time and is used by the rich and poor indiscriminately. Politicians that spend the day in office, seeking to make the life of every citizen a joy and comfortable. A job for everyone who wants to work and a living wage for every worker.

I have felt the throb of this country in my heart. A police unit that administers justice and protects all citizens equally. A justice system that follows only the letter of the law. A thriving manufacturing sector that feeds the nation with no need for excessive imports. A people who participate in democratic processes, not for themselves, but for their neighbours. Neighbours not protected by walls but by love for one another, self and Zimbabwe.

Everyday, I wake up and my heart is filled with longing for this Utopia. My curse is that, I do not think it is Utopia. I know that this is possible and I am one of the many vehicles through which this Zimbabwe will come to pass. Even if I wanted to, I cannot stop myself. I am violently and totally possessed by this vision that is not a vision, this dream that is not a dream, so much so that everyday I keep looking for the key.

I want it. I need it. Even if I must die looking, I cannot stop.

Fungai Chiposi, Mr.
A citizen and community development activist.

Tell me what YOU think